Four Years Ago Today

Have you ever had those days when you have an Ah-Ha moment. When all of the sudden you remember what the date was and what you were doing on this exact day at this exact time. Well I must confess I cheated because I have it written down in my Bible. But exactly 4 years ago today… My knight in shining armor came waltzing back into my life. (Actually it was the 2nd time he came in my place of employment but the first time was a month prior and I thought he wasn’t coming back)

When he came back in, I looked at him and knew one day we would be together. I had forsaken him 23 years prior for the sake of what others thought and this time I just wanted to be with him and have the life we should have had 23 years ago.

I worked at Santa Fe Bakery and we were getting ready for Summer Fun Days in Brookfield that weekend and I told him I was going to sing in the talent show and that I would like for him to come and see me sing. I was singing a song for him and I wanted to surprise him. The song I chose to sing was “As Long As I Live” by John Michael Montgomery:

The world’s been spinning ’round since time began
An’ when it stops, it’s out of my hands
So I could swear forever for all it’s worth
Or give you every day I have on Earth

Long as I live
Long as I breathe
With every heartbeat
I’ll need you near me
I won’t leave you behind
‘Til the Lord says it’s time to go with him
I’m yours long as I live

 

No matter if there’s mountains you can’t move
Or harder times then you thought you’d go through
And the weight of your world’s too much to bear
Just remember I’ll always be there

 

Long as I live
Long as I breathe
With every heartbeat
I’ll need you near me
I won’t leave you behind
‘Til the Lord says it’s time to go with him
I’m yours long as I live

 

The moon and stars aren’t mine to give
Neither is eternity
But I’ll give you a promise tonight
That I can keep

 

Long as I live
Long as I breathe
With every heartbeat
I’ll need you near me
I won’t leave you behind
‘Til the Lord says it’s time to go with him
I’m yours long as I live
I’m yours long as I live

I wanted him to know that from that point on If he would have me…I was his and no one else’s. I knew I was going to go against all odds and fight anyone who came in my path to be with him. I threw his love back at him the night that he tried to tell me that he loved me because I was afraid of what my friends and my mother would think because he was of a different race. He is 1/2 Japanese and very much looks like it. I have loved this man my whole life. I believe he is who God intended me to be with.

That is proving evident at the present with the plans that God has made in and for our lives. We finally got word on Saturday that Richard was appointed to Bear Branch/Purdin UMC’s. Things are just falling into place for us. We have been in limbo for so long that a final decision about where we were going to be seemed to put some closure on lots of things. We even may have found a house just north of the churches. It is a nice farm house that would be perfect for us and our family. Also has room for some animals, maybe a horse, outside dog, and some chickens.

Praise be to God! Richard and I are ready to put our spiritual energies and time as much as we can into leading people into a saving relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ.

Thanks to EVERYONE for the prayers, the encouragement, the gifts, and everything else that you have given to us. You have no idea how much it means to us to have your support. I feel truly blessed to finally be able to live a life that includes a relationship with Jesus Christ. Praise be to God for he has given us everything we need to be able to fulfill his purpose.

So… happy anniversary to my DH. Four years ago today I had hoped we would be where we are today. I give all the glory and praise to our Father in Heaven for the things we have accomplished to bring us to this point of being able to lead others to Jesus.

I Love You!

2 thoughts on “Four Years Ago Today

  1. And I love you, my darling Jeannie. I thank God each and every day that you came back into my life. I know that I am blessed to have you as my wife, and as my co-minister in Christ. I so look forward to sharing this fantastic journey in faith with you as we reach people for Jesus.

    Always remember: ILYFNAFAMPAR!!

Leave a Reply

