Required Reading for 6th grade?

I looked up on the internet for some book lists and suggested reading for 6th grade students.  What I found was almost amazing.  Know I do realize that it has been a few years since I was in the 6th grade but I don’t NOT remember reading hardly any of these books.  With maybe the exception of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.

So here is the list:

The Wind in the Willows (Kenneth Grahame)

White Fang (Jack London)

Walk Two Moons (Sharon Creech)

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (Jules Verne)

Treasure Island (Robert Lewis Stevenson)

The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)

The Swiss Family Robinson (Johann Wyss

Robinson Crusoe (Daniel Defoe)

The Red Badge of Courage (StephenCrane)

The Odyssey (Robin Lister

My Friend Flicka (Mary O’Hara)

Letters from Rifka (Karen Hesse)

Hans Brinker (Mary Mapes Dodge)

Gulliver’s Travels (Jonathan Swift

The Diary of Anne Frank (Anne Frank)

Children of the Dust Bowl Jery STanley)

The Blue Door (Ann Rinaldi)

The Black Stallion (Walter Farley)

Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)

Shiloh (Phyllis Reynold Naylor)

The adventures of TomSAwyer (Mark Twain)

Black Beauty (Anna Sewell)

The Bridget to Terabithia (Katherine Paterson)

Belle Prater’s Boy (Ruth White)

My Side of the Mountain (George J)

The House of Dies Drear (Virginia Hamilton)

Now how many of these books were you required to read in the 6th grade.  I know standards are probably a little higher for home schoolers but I was amazed.  There are about 12 more books on the list that I didn’t type here because I can’t find them.  There is a neat place online called Book Adventure that kids can go and take a quiz on books that they have read and earn points to redeem for prizes.  I think I will use this web site to grade her on them and also have her write a book report.

What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Required Reading for 6th grade?

  1. At least 16 of those books were required reading (if there was such a thing) when I was in 6th grade. So, about 21-22 years ago. And two more that I read in 7th grade (Anne Frank & The Odyssey).

    And that was at a Christian school who’s teacher was careful to follow the same list the public school teachers did.

Leave a Reply

