Not The Homeschooling Thing Again…..

Why I home school part 1 of 2

I am not sure how this subject keeps coming up because I don’t think I know many people who DON”T know that I home school.  But the fact remains is that when I meet someone new and they hear the words, “I have a 14-year-old daughter that is a freshman in High School and I home school her”, they give you that look of “Wow she must be pretty dumb”.  I just look at them and tell them she is the most brilliant child I have met and she loves God with all her heart, mind, soul, and strength.  Or they say “Oh it’s a God thing because your husband is a preacher.”  And to that I say “funny you say that because I started homeschooling her 2 years before he became a preacher.”

So I though that maybe I could shed some light on not only  the reason I decided to home school her but why I will continue to home school her.

First, the social reasons.  I have heard that my daughter is too sheltered from the “real” world.  My response is…”I hope so.”  You see I want my daughter sheltered from things like drugs, alcohol, and threats that kids hear on a day-to-day basis.  I don’t want to have to worry about a school being in a lock down due to some gunman terrorizing the school.

The definition of the word shelter is this:  something beneath, behind, or within which a person, animal,or thing is protected from storms, missiles, adverse conditions, etc.; a certain refuge.  In that case I do want her to be sheltered.  I want her to be protected from all things that could harm her.  The Bible tells us that God is our refuge:  Psalm 46:1 “God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble.”  God is not merely a temporary retreat; he is our eternal refuge and can provide strength in any circumstance.  In this case, can your child be too sheltered?  Can they be too protected?  Can they be made to have too little time with their peers having their feelings hurt and trying to fit in?  Will they be too sheltered because their parents are spending time teaching their children instead of them spending over 30 hours a week being taught by someone else?  Oh and lets not forget keeping them from being sexually harassed by their peers because they don’t want to have sex or are being pressured by a boy into having sex.  Yes if this is being sheltered then I want my child to be sheltered.

In Deuteronomy 6:6-9 God emphasized the importance of parents teaching their children.  The church and Christian schools cannot be used to escape from this responsibility.  The Bible provides so may opportunities for object lessons and practical teaching that it would be a shame to study it only one day a week.  Eternal truths are most effectively learned in the loving environment of a God-fearing home.  So what does that have to do with learning about the 3 R’s (reading, writing, arithmetic).  Well let me give you some examples.

(taken directly out of Kelsey’s home school curriculum from her freshman year)

Science:  In a study of the density of seawater, we find that three factors affect the density.  To find out what they are they study in depth the Dead Sea.  Talking about the temperature, salinity, and the pressure. She is learning about the seas and then they approach it in a biblical manner.

Geography:  It covers everything from continents, to physical and political maps spanning from 63 AD to present day.

Grammar:  In recognizing linking verbs, 10 questions are present.  The student is supposed to add the correct linking verb.  Nine out of the ten questions present are formulated around a Biblical concept.  For example:  In some areas, missionaries have _______________successful in converting natives who have never heard the gospel of Jesus to Christianity.

Math:  Every word problem is stated in a way that it is centered around a biblical concept.  Such as figuring out how many square feet the ark was upon completion.  (the dimensions were given in cubits…so they have to figure out how many cubits are in a foot)

And the list goes on and on.

Home schooling allows me to decide who will teach my child and what she will be taught.  Children are influenced by the attitudes and behaviors of those around them.  By teaching Kelsey at home, I can make sure she spends most of her time around individuals who will model and encourage good character and Christian behavior.

I want Kelsey to experience the real world with a trusted guide who loves her.  The more she matures and the older she gets the more I want her to grow up into a young woman, not to be a part of a society where public school encourages her to endure a self-involved, purposeless life that for some reason seems to be the norm.  I don’t want my daughter to be normal, I want her to be exceptional, in everything she does.

Uncategorized

One thought on “Not The Homeschooling Thing Again…..

  1. Thanks for the marvelous posting on home schooling! I really enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and will often come back sometime soon. I want to encourage one to continue your great work on the importance of education, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

