Slice of Home Blog (My sweet Hubby’s Blog)

15/365 days of blogging.

Since my recent departure from facebook, I have found myself involved in other meaningful activities.   I am reading my Bible more, getting caught up on Kelsey’s school work etc…  I have been missing out on so much by being sucked into the black  hole called the Internet.

I have reconnected with some old friends on Yahoo messenger, and rejoined the Yahoo group of Pastor’s wives I left behind 2 years ago.  I have missed them so and they are a great source of support for being a minister’s wife.  That title brings so many challenges that I can’t even begin to explain to anyone.  Those ladies are so caring that when I have a problem, all I have to do is email them and ask for prayer and I know I have dozens of prayer warriors lifting up my petitions to God.

Today as I was chatting with another wife on yahoo, and a second message box popped up from my wonderful hubby.  He said, “I wrote a post on my blog“, indicating I should go read it.  I went to read his post and It was great, as usual.  When he asked my opinion, I replied with “I miss your writing.”  At first he had a disappointed look on his face.  Then I explained to him that It wasn’t the post that I was talking about. It was his old way of writing that I missed.

Before he became a pastor he wrote a column for the local newspaper.  He had some great writings such as this one, and this one, and who could forget his very first column, and of course my FAVORITE.

His work for the local newspaper continued on after his pastorate began but the content of his writings changed into a witness for his first and only true passion, spreading the word of God.  I do believe that my husband has been truly touched by God to spread His word to the people who he is continually face with as being the least, the last, and the lost.  I have never seen a pastor who so passionately spreads the Word of God as my husband.  He is a man filled with the Spirit of God, who spreads His Word with a passion that is evident in the way he preaches not just from the pulpit on Sunday’s but the way he lives his life.  I have never seen or heard him compromise the Word of God.  He not only believes the Word of God, he lives his life in the manner explained in James 1:22-25:

“But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves. For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer, he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass: For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was. But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.”

He has surrendered his life to God 110%.  He believes his life is not his own but belongs to the one and only Creator.  I heard him say a few years ago…”Preach the gospel, and when necessary, use words.”  He not only spreads this saying to his congregation, he lives it in his own life.

All of his writings now consist of that very thing, spreading the Gospel.  Although I do miss his “old” writings, I am so very proud to see him grow more and more each and every day in his faith and his walk with God.  I have learned so much from him in the last 6 years.  And I am proud to stand by his side ministering to God’s people.

Keep writing for God honey.  I am so proud of you and I know that God is too.

Leave a Reply

