Falling In Love With Jesus

22/365 days of blogging.

Yesterday I wrote about an experience I had during a celebration that Harvest Time Ministries from Bowling Green, Mo put on called “The Great Awakening.”  I wanted to elaborate on what has happened to me since that time.

When I was 14, I fell in love with a young man who would become my husband some 23 years later.  I knew I was in love with him, and he knew it.  The problem was that he was 1/2 Japanese and I worried that my family would not be accepting of a “mixed” relationship.  After telling me how he felt about me one evening, I ran scared like a little girl and never told him how I felt.  We spent the next 22 years apart.  When he found his way back into my life, I was all too eager to tell him how I felt all those years ago.  Today we have been married for 8 years, and I can’t imagine being anywhere else.

So I got to thinking about how much this had paralleled my walk with Jesus.  I remembered being in love with Jesus at one time in my life, but circumstances in my life let me to believe that the worlds views of a relationship with Jesus are of no value.  I decided that I wanted to “fall in love with Jesus again.”

The world tells us that life is all about love.  But the love the world tells us about it a love for self.  The two greatest commandments Jesus gave us is – to love God and to love your neighbor.  Mark 12:30-31 tells us ” Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’  The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  There is no commandment greater than these.”  

When we as Christians stop spending time with God, it is noticeable, especially as it comes out in one’s attitude. You can tell when someone is not walking with God.  Their actions show it.  One of my husbands favorite sayings is “Preach the gospel, when necessary use words.”  People should be able to tell if we love God by the actions we take and the things we say.

If I don’t spend time with God on a given day, I know it. If I don’t spend time with God for a couple of days, my husband begins to notice. If I don’t spend time with God for about a week, all my friends start to ask what is wrong with me.  It comes out in my attitude because I become critical, I’m impatient, I can be cranky.  But when I am spending time being in the Word and allowing the Holy Spirit to fill you with love it pushes all those things out the back door.  The only way you get that love is spending time with Jesus and being in the Word.  Surrounding yourself with like-minded people gives you the strength and support to WANT to be in the Word and spend time in prayer with God.

Today I choose to serve the Lord.  I will do the best I can to live my life for Jesus Christ.   Whatever it takes Lord, I want to be used by you in such a way that on that final day I’ll hear you say ‘well done now good and faithful servant, you may enter my kingdom.

About a year ago, I fell in love with Jesus, again.  I never knew that I was supposed to have that kind of relationship with Him.  I am excited to serve Him everyday and I look forward to waking up each and every morning with a renewed sense of what it means to have someone who loves me unconditionally.  Thank you Jesus for dying on a lonely cross to save me from my sins.  I give you all the praise,  honor, and glory, for everything you have given me in my life.  I will do the very best I can to serve you.

Leave a Reply

