A Year With God Review

57/365 days of blogging

Title: A year With God
Author: R.P. Nettelhorst
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Inc
Publish date: 2010
ISBN:  978-0-8499-4698-1
Format: Soft Cover 399 pages
Price: 15.99

I just recently finished a devotional that I started over a year ago.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to read the entire thing for a year when I ordered it from Thomas Nelson, but I needed to take a break from blogging and from reading.  My life had got so busy I had to put some things on the back burner for a while and the two things I loved were the things that won that contest.

The book is called A Year With God.  A devotional that highlights God’s words to His people.  In reading what God actually said, you can know what really matters to him and to you.  It’s a pure, simple, and lasting way to connect your heart with God’s and become more like Him everyday. (from the back of the book cover)

I found that this book, while it is a great devotional that seemed to connect with everyday life, it seemed to be a little on the “short” side.  I don’t deny that devotionals are just that…devotionals, I like to be able to have more than a good story and scripture to reflect on.  Each page is filled with very short story from the author whether it meant a personal, historical, or just interesting story.  A scripture at the top of the page ties it into each story.

If you are a seasoned Bible reader, it does a great job of expounding on the Scriptures and bringing light to the sometimes bleak passages of the Bible. Nettelhorst brings the context out in a simple and profound way. A good overall devotion but a short one.  Each day takes only about 10-15 minutes to read.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

