Trip To The Doctor

84/365 days of blogging.

Yes, I took my stubborn self to the Dr. yesterday.  I have been having some pain in my left arm for quite some time. (actually been about 3 months)  At first I figured it was just a pinched nerve, but no matter what I did, it wasn’t getting better.

So The doctor asked me all kinds of questions like, what is your pain level, how far can you move it, and do you remember injuring it in any way.

My answers?  6 on a good day, 8 most days.  More like a 10 when I move it.  I can not raise my arm above shoulder height.  and no I couldn’t pinpoint a time where I pulled it, lifted anything heavy, or even that it hurt.  I literally just woke up one day and it was hurting.  She said think real hard…LOL, as if it wasn’t clear that I already had smoke coming out of my ears.

OH OH OH!  I remember now.  One night I was asleep and was awakened by pain in my upper arm.  When I was fully awake I remember excruciating pain coming from my left bicep.  There!  That was the injury!  Wait….seriously?  All I did was raise my arm above my head and now she says…”I think you have a torn muscle.”  OK kinda like a sprain.  I can handle that.  No a “tear”.  Alright…what is a tear?  A tear is literally a tear.  Like tearing a piece of paper.

Ok, so now that we have a diagnosis, what do we do?  Well “you have to put your arm in a sling for the next week and a half and then have an MRI and then IF it is a tear, you will have to keep it in a sling for up to 8 weeks so it can heal.

Well that sounds simple enough!  WHAT?  Wait a minute.  My arm in a sling.  Did I mention I do daycare and presently care for 4 children under the age of 4?  Three in diapers.  “Well I guess you will have to have someone else change diapers for a while and no lifting.  And since your arm is in a sling, you can’t do anything else that requires moving your arm away from your body.”

So here I am depending on other people to do every day tasks for me.  I am a very independent person and don’t like depending on others, especially every day routine things.  But, hubby says I will have to get over it.  Until the doctor clears me, I am an invalid.  Sorry honey.  😦

 

Leave a Reply

