The Meanest Mom In The World

128/365 days of blogging.

I found this on the Internet a few years back and I kinda made my own “meanest mom” saga.  I read this for children’s message at our church service this morning.

I had the meanest mother in the world.  While other kids had candy for breakfast, I had to eat cereal, eggs and toast.  While other kids had cakes and candy for lunch, I had to eat school lunches which were nutritious.  As you can guess, my dinner was different from other kids dinners too.  My mother made me eat vegetables, and meat.  YUK!

My mother insisted on knowing where we were at all times.  You’d think we were in a chain gang or something.  She had to know who our friends were and what we were doing.  She even called to check up on us to make sure we were where we said we were and doing what we said we were doing.

I am ashamed to admit it, and I hope I don’t get her in trouble but she actually broke the child labor laws.  She made us work!  We had to do the dishes, make the beds, and learn how to do laundry and cook.  I think she must have stayed awake late at night dreaming up things for us to do.

And she insisted we tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.  By the time I was a teenager, she was much wiser and my life became unbearable.  Most of my friends were allowed to date at the mature age of 12 or 13, but my old-fashioned mother refused to let me date until I was 16.  She really raised a bunch of kids that were well…I guess sheltered.  None of us were ever arrested, or did drugs.

And who do we have to thank for this?  Your are right, My very mean mother.  I am trying to raise my children to stand a little straighter and taller, and I feel very proud when I hear my children say “you are mean.”

I thank God for giving me the meanest mother in the world.  This world today doesn’t need a great leader to make changes in it…all it needs is a few mean mothers like the one I grew up with.

With today being Mother’s day, I wanted to say that I cherish my mother.  I feel very blessed to have had a mother that actually cared about me in ways that taught me how to be appreciative of what it meant to have a mean mother.  It is because of her caring and “meanness” that I have grown up to be the God-fearing mother that I am today.  I praise God that out of all the mothers in the world…He chose my mother to be mine.

Happy Mothers Day to Wanda Bagley…my mother who raised 4 beautiful children.  We all had a chance to be anything we wanted…I am glad she gave me the foundation to become a Godly woman and raise Godly children myself.

One thought on “The Meanest Mom In The World

Leave a Reply

