Condemnation Is Always Sweet…

135/365 days of blogging.

Guest blog by Hubby at Slice of Home.  Origianally published on August 17th, 2005.  I have been reading through his blogs and this one caught my eye.  Made me a little angry because I remembered the email he was talking about and I remember at the time thinking that this person needed to get their life together and set their priorities.  Now 11 years later…I think, about that person, they don’t know any better because they don’t have Jesus in their heart and live a life for God, or at least they didn’t then.

Condemnation Is Always Sweet…

It’s amazing as I sit here and write my blog, and monthly column for the Linn County Leader, how I am reminded of the way Jesus must have felt when he was attacked and persecuted by so many…probably felt like he was being body slammed by all around Him…even the disciples, who constantly needed to be taught just who Jesus was (like we do).

I received an anonymous e-mail (once again) from a person this evening who basically attacked me from two fronts: one, that I did not mention my wife and kids in my blog profile at all (and just an FYI…there isn’t any place for that except in ONE area and it’s a pretty small one at best); and secondly, about my faith and home life.

Firstly…there are MANY entries in my blog about my wife, our kids, my dad, and my mom in the blog archives…some not even a week old. Read them and then you’ll understand that I ALWAYS include my family in my life.

And, in answer to the latter question: my destiny lies not in the hands of my wife, or kids, or even my Mom…but in the hands of our living God who has granted me this life to share the Good News of Jesus Christ with others. There is no other real meaning to life other than that, contrary to what the world teaches and believes. The real mission is to reach lost souls for the Lord…that is all. For too many years, I was blinded by the world, which offers “false” teachings and temporary pleasures but no substance…and when those things were gone, there was that empty void; a vast space in my heart that was yearning for more…a lifeless place that no drug; or booze; or spouse; or even children can fill. ONLY God can. And until Jesus touched my life and I gave my all to Him…I was as blind as the Pharisees were some 2,000 years ago, when they were confronted by Jesus about their attitudes and legalism…and yet they had no answers for His parables.

And before one goes any farther and tries to rip me about NOT loving my family, hear this: I love my wife Jeannie like Jesus Christ loves His Church and gave Himself for it…and I love my children and my mom and others as well. I would give up my very life for all of them…they are my FAMILY. They are wonderful gifts from the Lord, as are all of my family and relatives; and also my brothers and sisters in Christ. I cherish everyone who has touched my life in some way or another…I pray that I have touched theirs as well.

And..lastly..my home life is wonderful….I have a soulmate, helpmate and spouse whom I cherish, adore, and deeply am in love with…Jeannie my best friend who is there whenever I have a bad day at work, or the pressures of life get to me, or I just need to get something off my chest. We pray together, read God’s Word together, and spend every single waking moment with each other, contributing to our community while spreading the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

As for my kids: I just wrote about how I am saddened because Jordan and Jon went back home to Ohio after spending the entire summer with us. It is difficult to have them for two or three months and then watch them go; however, I am thankful that their mom teaches them good Godly principles, and that they apply those to their lives. I am SO proud of them. And for Briana and Kelsey, our two daughters that live at home: they are the sweetest, kindest kids you will ever meet, even though Briana is a teenager now and is going through that hormonal thing called puberty and cops an attitude every now and then. I am reminded of how Jeannie and I were as teenagers, and the angst that comes with being that age. So, we’ll leave it at that. :)

One last thing…God’s Word reminds me of this: we should not judge others, because so oftentimes we fail to see our own shortcomings that are so glaringly visible to Him. (Matthew 7: 1-5) 1 Judge not, that ye be not judged. 2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. 3 And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? 4 Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye? 5 Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.

In closing: it’s a tough world out there. Dog eat dog; man eat man; leftovers for everyone else. But with Jesus, we are set free from all this mess…but only if we CHOOSE to be set free and have our lives forever changed by God. He alone molds us; He alone shapes us; He alone uses us for His Kingdom’s sake.

Enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply

