Guest Blog by Slice Of Home

139/365 days of blogging.

Guest  blog by my hubby at Slice of Home.

Originally posted on January 9th, 2006 and in the Linn County Leader in Brookfield, MO.

“Why does he write about God all the time?”

I can imagine there are plenty of people out there who read my blog and wonder, “Why does he write about God all the time?”

And, you know, that is a valid question; it does seem that, in one form or another, my posts do concern the Lord and what He is doing and continues to do in my life, as well as my family’s lives. Sometimes I take a flight of fancy and throw a quick entry in here about current news, or things in my past that have shaped the present day incarnation of Richard Davis…but even those hint in one form or another at my spirituality.

So, here goes: this is my answer as to why I write about God.

Because it pleases Him that I do so, and He is what my life is about.

Sharing God is a wonderful thing.

Believe it or not, my life is not about me, or my writing abilities (however small they might be in comparison to others); it’s not about me gaining anything from this blog (excepting for the occasional e-mails that I receive which lighten the day and put a smile on my face…people actually DO read this!)…No, what my life is all about is Jesus.

As the Apostle Paul said, this life that I live is not mine…never has been, even though I used to think that way. I HAVE lived a pretty stupid and selfish life, always thinking about myself and what I could gain out of the whole deal. But, 17 years ago, when I accepted Jesus as my personal Savior and Lord, something simple, yet very profound, happened. I got out of the way and God started being the focus of my life.

And since then, my life has NOT been the same; sure, it’s been difficult at times even after this life-changing decision; there are plenty of instances when that old self steps into the path and I get smacked by my own illusions of grandeur and my head swells up and I thump my chest and say, “Lookee here at what I did!”. Yet I would never turn back from the course my life is on now. There IS no turning back. I press towards the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

So, there’s your answer. It’s a simple one, I grant you that. But it has affected my life in SO many wonderful ways.

Thanks, God. For being there when I needed that helping Hand out of the pig pen.

Leave a Reply

