Too Much Passion?

161/365 days of blogging.

I was having a conversation with Friend, a Christian friend, the other day.  I told her that I didn’t understand why people didn’t want to work for the Lord.  Why didn’t they want to give back to God a small spark of what He had given us?  She said, “Well Jeannie you can’t expect everyone to be on the same page in their walk as you are.”  My response was “Why can’t I?”

I understand that not everyone on the same level of the personal relationship with Jesus.  I know there are baby Christians, that are still sucking on the bottle, and then there are children, who are beginning to learn, and then as adults, we can continue to improve our personal relationship with Christ.  What I don’t understand is someone not being passionate about God and His word.

I don’t know if it comes from having buried a child or whether or not I am just in a place in my life that I am passionate about God, but let’s get real about this people.  God gave up His ONLY Son, the only one He will ever have, to save US from ourselves.  To save us from an eternity of burning in hell.  Could you give up your child to save someone elses life?  I don’t think I could.  I could give up my own life to save another but not the life of my child.  I would call that a pretty huge sacrifice wouldn’t you?  It is the least we could do when we accept that as truth and become a christian to give what we have left of our life to Him.  To serve Him.  To do whatever it took to please Him.  The only thing is that we have to CHOOSE to accept this free gift.  He gives it to us freely, unconditionally.  No requirements except we must make the choice to follow Him.  Now how hard can that be?

Apparently for some people it is the hardest thing to do.  Doing so requires giving up of oneself, taking up the cross and following Jesus wherever, whenever, and however he commands us to do so.  Now I am not saying that when you become a christian you will lead a perfect life.  Actually the exact opposite.  satan is going to throw twice as many darts at you as he did before you were saved.  You see when you are lost, satan already has you.  He doesn’t have to work at all to get you on his side.  But once you are saved, he sends his little minions out to get you because he knows you are going to lead others to the same saving relationship that you have found.

Relationships must be cultivated. Cultivation takes time. Relationships just don’t happen. You must nurture them; you must put effort into them; you must make time for them. They are not automatic just because they are with your children, or your spouse, or a friend, nor is your relationship with God automatic, just because you got saved. You must take time to seek His face; you must want to be with Him. When you make that decision, you will not be disappointed.

As children of God we should be the most passionate people in the world. We CAN choose to praise our God! We CAN choose to seek His face! We CAN choose to be passionate about our Lord! We don’t have to give in to satan! We can be on fire! In the Name of Jesus.

So in response to my first statement, when you stand before a congregation, like ours, and petition for membership into the church, you are asked these questions:

Will you be loyal to God and this church with you:

  • Prayers
  • Presence
  • Service
  • Gifts
  • Witness

I think if you are answering yes to these questions, and making a commitment to God and the church it is not too much to expect you to fulfill those commitments.  This means that every time the church doors are open, and you are able, you should be here.  It seems in most cases members think that if they don’t have time to serve God, it’s ok that others will take up the slack.  Seems that a few people are doing everything (usually an inner circle of people) instead of everyone doing a few things.  Then people get burned out and leave the church, therefore walking away from their relationship with God.

Following God is one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life.  But it is the most rewarding thing I have ever done at the same time.  I do not consider it a job to work for God.  I do, however, consider it a calling.  Some would say they are not called in the same manner.

Let me leave you with this…

“And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go thereforeand make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen

Matthew 28:18-20 – The Great Commission preached to all not just some.

One thought on “Too Much Passion?

  1. I love you. You are awesome.I pray that some will take this message about passion and actually examine their walks with Christ and reignite some of that spiritual fire that has been lacking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

