A Love Note From My HUSBAND!

162/365 days of blogging.

My husband and I were married on April 10, 2004.  It was the happiest day of my life.  I had waited 23 years to become Mrs Richard Davis.  And at last that day finally arrived.  Sometime in the next few days, the letter was dated 4-25-04, after that he placed a note, a simple had written note that I found almost 2 years later in the pages of my bible somewhere in the book of Micah.  It simple read:

My precious Angel,

Thank you for being my everything – my soul mate, my best friend, my lover…most of all my wife.  I can truly say that God has blessed me richly and that this is the happiest I have ever been in my life.  I love you with all my heart, mind, soul, and body, my love.

Your best friend and husband

Richard

I recently came across this note again.  His note got me to thinking about our marriage and how confused the world is on what a marriage is and should be.   As I read it I was reminded at how blessed I am to have such a Godly man in my life.  I was drawn to this scripture:

“I am my lover’s and my lover is mine; he browses among the lilies.”  Song of Solomon 6:3

At last I am his and he is mine.  We have been married almost 9 years now and I praise God for ever trial and tribulation we have gone through.  As I looked upon him driving in the car today, I realized that not most men would want to do what he did today.  I had a doctor’s appointment today that required him waiting in a lobby for almost 2 hours while I had some tests run and gave medical information to the nurse and doctors.  As I watched him driving to the appointment I could tell he was concerned…not concerned with the outcome of the appointment, but concerned with how I would handle what ever the outcome would be.  All the way there and all the way back he kept reassuring me that everything was in God’s hands and that no matter what, God was in control and He would take care of me. You see, Richard and I belong to each other, something we both should have done over 30 years ago, and together we belong to God.  We have given ourselves to each other and to God completely.

The media today is filled with sexual escapades, extramarital affairs, and preaches that immorality means freedom, that perversion is natural and commitment is old-fashioned.  Sex was created by God and pronounced good in Eden, but it has been twisted, exploited, and turned into an illicit drug so to speak.  It is casual at best and promoted as a self gratifying activity.  Love has turned into lust, giving into getting, and a lasting commitment has been turned into a “no strings attached” relationship.

In reality, sexual intercourse, the physical and emotional union of male and female, should be a holy means of celebrating love, producing children, and experiencing pleasure, protected ONLY by the commitment of marriage.

God must have thought that sex was an important part of a marital union because scripture contains several references to it.  It warns against its misuse and gives guidelines for its purpose.  It IS however ALWAYS mentioned with in the context of a loving relationship between a husband and a wife.  With all the talk about same-sex marriage and homosexual rights, it is hard to distinguish what is right and wrong in the world’s eyes.  But rest assured my friend…The bible makes it very clear.  Marriage is between a woman and a man, should be between two believers, and is a covenant made for life.

Richard’s little love note that he wrote me almost 9 years ago, made me realize how blessed I am to be in a marriage with a man of God and that we can serve the Lord in the same capacity together.  You are my knight in shining armor my darling.  Thank you for pointing me in the direction of my Savior.  You keep me grounded in my faith and shine a light for all to see and follow the way to our Lord.

Well done thou good and faithful servant!

I love you!

 

Leave a Reply

