…..2 years Later…The Rest Of The Story.

173/265 days of blogging.

So what is our church like today?  Well it isn’t our church.  It is God’s church completely.  It is merely where God has placed us to serve His people for His kingdom.

Today…the church that we serve is a very loving church that the Lord has sent many blessings down to touch each and every life that has a part of building God’s kingdom through the outreach missions that are being done there.  He has sent families and individuals to join our fellowship.  Families that have not been welcomed anywhere else in our community.  Yes not welcomed even at other churches.  In the words of some of them, “This is the first church that has actually made me feel welcomed and like family.”

We are privileged to hear the Word preached with passion and conviction. Our hearts are merged with the kind of fellowship and love known by born again saints who have been bathed in the blood of Jesus Christ.  We love each other unconditionally, and without purpose of wanting something from one another.  We talk about and work out our problems instead of allow hurt feelings get in the way of serving and worshiping God.  We love the Lord with everything we have and we thrive on learning His Word.  We are not perfect by any means and we are all sinners saved by the grace of God.  We do, however,  stand firm on the Word.  We work side by side each other to do all tasks within the church to bring the Gospel to all those who will listen.  We are just one big happy family.

All of my life I have known Jesus…I was saved when I was 10 years old at a southern Baptist church camp.  I didn’t, however, KNOW Jesus.  As many years as I have attended church, or at least for the first 38, I was never told or taught that having a relationship with Jesus Christ was important.  Nor did I even know what that meant.  This is our main focus on the teachings from the pulpit and in our Educational Hour.  As a ministry couple, my husband and I can not justify not teaching the word instead of just preaching it.  What is the use of saving people from an eternity of hell if we don’t teach them how to walk with Jesus?  What is the point of making disciples if you never teach them about salvation.  We make it a committment to do both.  As the great commission says…..”Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:  Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”  (Matthew 28:19-20)

At CSBC, the Holy Spirit is ever-present!  The Lord has blessed us in every way imaginable.  All the heart ache and all the pain that we face during that time in our ministry has become a distant memory.  All of it has been used for God’s glory.  I worried about everything back then.  I worried, and even doubted that God would do what He told us he would do.  I worried that the people who were unhappy would convince the ones that were loyal that we were doing things our way and not God’s way.  I worried would God provide for our family.  Can we really make it on a 850.00 per month.  We stepped out in faith and left our home, our income, our life and came to this small church and made a commitment to serve God with everything we had.  We chose obedience over the worlds ways.  When we finally came to the place that we were in the middle of a church restart – church split – church plant, I worried will he take us in a direction that will allow us to overcome my doubt, the constant attack on our reputations.  Was God going to bless this road we were on or was He going to leave us high and dry to fight off the wolves because I was doubting that we were even doing His will?  Days went by that  let to weeks.  Weeks led to months, and now that has led to a year later.

I can remember during that time I would sit on a Sunday morning and be disappointed that we had only 20 people in the congregation.  One Sunday morning God spoke to me and said “Remember the time when you were rejoicing when we had 20 people in worship?”  Oh yes! God I was praising Your name and giving thanks that we had new people in the church and we were growing.  “Then why my child are you concerned about *only* 20 people in My house today?”

Today, I try very hard to just let God be who He is.  Let Him be who He is in me, and the church that I serve along side my husband.  We have been blessed with a small congregation that loves the Lord with all their mind, heart, soul, and strength.  Sure we have our problems…but unlike the church of before, we can work through anything with God’s help.  He is a mighty and BIG God that I place all my trust in.  I am very thankful to be planted where we are and to continue to bloom where I am planted.

If you are experiencing turmoil among God’s people, in your congregation…..Keep the armor of God upon your body at all times.  Fight a good Godly fight.  Our Lord is faithful and just and he will open the store houses of heaven and bless your life beyond belief.  He sees all, He knows what you are going through and he can do more for you that you can ever imagine.  He will bless your life and your ministry if you just believe, and trust in Him with everything you have in you.

Leave a Reply

