The Comforter

184/365 days of blogging.

Have you ever felt like crying “I can’t stand it” or “It’s more than I can handle?”  No, my friend, it is not more than you can handle.  Remember, “He will sit as a refiner and a purifier of silver;  He will purify the sons of Levi, and purge them as gold and silver, that they may offer to the Lord an offering in righteousness.” (Malachi 3:3)  He knows.  So you can stand it.  At a time when you feel you can take no more, pray for God to recall to your remembrance scripture to comfort you.

Some that come to mind:

No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.”  (1 Corinthians 10:13)

 “But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last your care for me has flourished again; though you surely did care, but you lacked opportunity.  Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:  I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  (Philippians 4:10-13)

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

A little background; In the process of refining metals, the raw metal is heated with fire until it melts.  The impurities separate from it and rise to the surface. They are skimmed off, leaving the pure metal.  Without this heating and melting, there could be no purifying.  As the impurities are skimmed off the top, the reflection of the worker appears in the smooth pure surface.  As we are purified by God, His reflection in our lives will become more and more clear to those around us.

So you can handle anything that satan throws at you if you only trust in God to get you through.  In the book The Mystery of Divine Chastening, David Kirk tells the story of two Christian martyrs during the Reformation.  One was a veteran saint, Latimer, and the other was a young believer, Riley.  They were condemned to be burned at the stake.  The night before the execution young Riley was highly nervous and v ery agitated.  He looked through the iron bars of their dungeon prison and saw them preparing the stakes.  In his panic he tried to light a candle and in the process burned his finger.  His burn impressed upon him the greater agony of the fate that awaited him and he cried out, “I can’t stand it, I can’t stand it.”  His seasoned companion gently laid his hand upon his shoulder and said, “My friend, God didn’t ask you to burn your finger, so He doesn’t give grace to stand it tonight, but tomorrow, when the time comes, God will give sufficient grace.”  The next morning the two men were led to the stakes each with a triumphant smile and perfect peace in his heart.  As the flames surrounded their bodies, out of the midst came their vibrant voices united in a victorious song of praise.  Yes, my friend, God gives grace for everything He calls upon you to bear.

Now. my friends. I am by no means an expert at handling trials in my life.  And I am sure, as many of you reading this, have seen yours.  But what I will tell you is that I try to rely on scripture and prayer to the best of my ability.  Now what I am good at is leaving everything at the altar and then getting 10 feet away from it and turning around and saying “God do you need my help with that?”  We think we have to handle things on our own and that God is to busy for our problems.  Someone else needs Him more than we do.  God wants us to need Him.  He wants us to seek His face.  Why?  Because it pleases Him to do so.  So many times in my life I have thought I was alone and with no one to help me get through situations in my life.  I had to get to a place that I was so far beat down that I only had up to look.  I had to look up to my Savior for help.  And He was right there waiting for me all the time.  I just had to make that choice.

What choice will you make today?

Leave a Reply

