Speaking Out On Idolatry….part 2

194/365 days of blogging

Continued from last post.

COMMON IDOLS IN OUR CULTURE:

  • self  – I put myself in God’s place in my life.  I think I am sovereign and powerful and HUGE and God is small, wimpy and impotent – if I even acknowledge His existence at all
  • control – I think I have to MAKE things happen “right” or everything will be a mess.  I think I am responsible for the outcome of circumstances and events and for controlling other people’s behavior.  I think I am responsible for things that I actually have no control over.  I can’t see where my boundaries of responsibility end and other people’s or God’s begin
  • our husbands –  I put him in the place of God in my soul and expect him to be Christ to me (not just to represent Christ) but to BE Christ – to be perfect, to meet all my emotional and spiritual needs and to be completely responsible for my happiness every second of every day.  If I am not happy – it is my husband’s fault!
  • our children – we live for them, sacrifice everything for them, live vicariously through them, make their happiness our biggest goals in life
  • money
  • career
  • wealth
  • power
  • fame
  • expensive things (clothes/houses/cars/jewelry)
  • popularity
  • certain friends
  • parents
  • government
  • people’s approval
  • a presidential candidate
  • music
  • salvation of a loved one
  • healing from a disease
  • a singer
  • an actress/actor
  • a crush on someone
  • pleasure
  • comfort
  • health
  • being thin
  • beauty
  • looking young
  • sex
  • sexiness
  • modesty
  • being “religious”
  • following rules
  • being “good”
  • reputation
  • people being happy with us (not letting anyone ever be mad at us)
  • sports
  • tv
  • FB
  • media
  • unforgiveness
  • anger/bitterness/resentment
  • a loved one not dying
  • shows/books
  • our husbands’ visual purity/sinlessness
  • our children’s behavior
  • church
  • ministry
  • rituals
  • feeling “in love”
  • feeling loved in our marriage
  • feeling respected
  • changing someone else (especially our husband)
  • getting married/being married
  • having children
  • being busy
  • taking pictures
  • hobbies
  • saving money
  • travel
  • gambling
  • addictions of any kind
  • blogging
  • rescuing people
  • being overly responsible for other people

As Wes Church, one of our ministers, said – “The human heart is an idol factory.”  We can make ANYTHING into an idol!  And we don’t even realize it!

None of these things are BAD.  The problem is when we try to use these things to fill the God-shaped hole in our soul that only Christ can fill.  We must keep these things in proper perspective and in their proper place of priority.  And we have to be willing to hold all these things loosely in our hands to allow God to take away and give according to His will and His wisdom and what He knows is best for us and those we love.

THE “WAGES” OF IDOLATRY

The wages of sin is death.

When we are rebelling against God and full of sin – and there is no worse sin than idolatry  – we cannot have God’s Spirit in control.  Idolatry CANNOT give us contentment, peace, joy, love, hope, patience…

My dear friend and I were talking about this today.  The fruit of God’s Spirit grows in us and turns us into a lush, lavish, fruitful tree by streams of water and all that fruit is just bursting from our lives.  But when we have idolatry, pride and sin instead of God’s Spirit – our lives become a dried up, diseased, rotting tree that will eventually decay and die.  The “fruit” of idolatry, pride and sin is:

  • FEAR – BIG TIME FEAR
  • lost connection and intimacy with God
  • constant anxiety and worry
  • discontentment
  • anger
  • bitterness
  • resentment
  • loneliness
  • curses
  • disease
  • insatiable appetite for more
  • we give up all that matters most to us as we pursue our idol – even if that means we have to sacrifice our health, our families, our marriage, our children, our money, our time – we will give up ANYTHING if we think it will get us the idol we want so desperately.
  • death

WHAT ARE SIGNS THAT I MIGHT BE COMMITTING IDOLATRY?

  • I MUST have THIS PARTICULAR THING/PERSON/EVENT to be happy.  I will NOT be ok unless I have X.
  • I am spending an inordinate amount of money on that thing.
  • I am constantly worried about my idol and trying to figure out how I will MAKE things work out right so I can have what I want the way I want it.
  • I cannot stop myself, I am a slave to serving my idol.  I am addicted.
  • I spend most of my time trying to acquire my idol or serve my idol.
  • I don’t care what the cost is to my family, my relationships, my health – I WILL have what I want!
  • I have EXTREME FEAR of losing my idol
  • I have no joy of God in my heart.
  • I am focused on negativity, complaining, arguing, rebelling against God-given authority.
  • I am cherishing sin in my heart.
  • I have no peace.
  • I have no contentment.
  • If someone asks me to give up my idol – I get REALLY, REALLY, REALLY upset, angry, defensive, combative and will do anything to keep from having to give up my idol.
Leave a Reply

