W-I-F-E? I Wear That Title Proudly!

10/365 days of blogging….(I know I know….I have lots to catch up on!  LOL  Ministry life is busy to say the least!

c199597308e8d8b5a4eeb30fcd058b1b

I read a daily blog on a site called “Happy Wives Club.”  I recently read a blog post there that started with this quote:

“A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person.” -Mignon McLaughlin

I always say the best thing about falling asleep in my husbands arms every night is that I get to wake up in them every morning.  I am so madly in love with my husband that I proudly take the title of “his wife.”

Often we hear about couples that “have fallen out of love” and I can’t understand this concept.  Marriage takes work and if you are not willing to put the effort into working at falling in love with and making your spouse fall in love with you each and every day then maybe you shouldn’t have gotten married in the first place.  Kind of reminds me of the movie 50 First Dates.  I LOVE that movie.  I am not a big Adam Sandler fan but that movie is so cute!  The fact that he gets the opportunity to make her fall in love with him each day is so romantic.

Richard gives me a reason to fall in love with him every day.  Heck every time our eyes meet, the look we share is enough to make me fall in love with him everyday.  Do we have our differences?  Sure.  Do we disagree?  Sure.  But the reality is that no matter how heated a discussion gets, we always come together in the end and fall in love all over again.

We are notorious for leaving little love notes in inconspicuous places for each other.  Whether it be an email, or in a shirt pocket, or on each other’s desk.  The point is that I appreciate him and everything he does for me,  (or at least I try to), and I try to show my gratitude for how he treats me.  I can list a million reasons why I love him, but that was another blog post, but truth is it wouldn’t be enough.  I am so blessed to have him in my life and the Godly influence that he has had on my children and myself is nothing short of amazing.  I never thought I would be a preacher’s wife, believe me if you knew my past you would think the same.  But as my husband has told me many times…..God doesn’t call the equipped…He equips the called.

All in all….I am overjoyed to be married to a man that makes me proud to wear the title….W-I-F-E!

Leave a Reply

