I’m A Jesus Freak! And Proud Of It!

12/365 days of blogging.

I have put off writing this post for quite some time now.  I am not even sure why I am writing it now but I know that God has been pressing my heart to write it so tonight I just decided to sit down and do it.  I guess tonight I am in a writing mood because this is the third post I have written.  I should just keep writing because I am so far behind my 365 days that I may never get caught up and I promised myself I was going to make a valiant effort this year!

Anyway here goes…..

jesusfreak1

I am constantly being accused of being a Bible thumping Jesus freak, that I am hateful, and that I am overboard with my Christianity.  Just because I believe that EVERY word in the Bible is the infallible Word of God, that It is God-breathed, and I use it as the instruction book and the ONLY authority in my life doesn’t make me a miss goody two shoes.

I am done trying to defend my faith.  I love God with everything I have and every fiber of my being.  I am not hateful, or even a freak.  I am a faithful child of God that does the best I can, which is never good enough, to wake up every morning and think to myself, “God what can I do for you today?”  Someone quoted to me  “When I wake up and put my feet on the floor…I want satan to say ‘Oh crap she’s up.'”  That is what I want to accomplish everyday in my life.

Going to church, warming a pew or ‘faking’ your way though being a Christian doesn’t make you a Christian anymore than standing in a garage makes you a car.  Now let me make it clear that I am not judging anyone.  That is for only God to do.    But by people saying I am judging them is an actual judgement given from themselves, something they claim only God should do.  Jesus said in the book of Matthew “Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.  And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye?  Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank in your own eye?  Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:1-5

When I make a decision about what I am going to do or not do I pray about it and I check the fruits (of the Holy Spirit) and if what my decision is, comes in conflict with any one of them the I know it is not of God.  We can not be IN the world and be OF God at the same time.  God’s word says; “No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and Mammon.”  Matthew 6:24

I may be considered a radical Christian.  If I am, then so be it!  I boast in the Lord for what He has done in my life.  I am grateful that He gave His Son to die on the cross to save me from myself.  To do what ever I can to repay that debt seems minuscule in comparison.  I don’t understand why others don’t feel the same way.  People who call themselves Christians.  Why don’t they have a greater passion to do God’s work.  Why don’t they WANT to live a life that revolves around God.  Why must people continue to compromise their faith for what they consider minor infractions to the 10 commandments.  Things such as little white lies, disobeying man’s law, abortion when babies aren’t convenient to their life, among MANY others.  Instead we try to justify not living the Word of God by making excuses.

There are many excuses people make for laying out of church services. ” My child was sick”, (when it’s really just a cold), and I didn’t want to expose everyone.  But later seen in Wal-Mart exposing the whole town.  “I didn’t feel good”, but they can sit on the computer playing games all day.  “Sunday is my only day to sleep in”, and they are heading out at 9 am to get a pack of smokes.   I was asked one time why I feel like I have to be at the church every time the doors are open?  My response was “Why DON’T you feel that you have to?”  There is no difference in the sincerity of the question.  I don’t understand why they DON’T want to be in church anymore than they don’t understand why I DO.

In Matthew 7:21-23 Jesus tells us this:  “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven.  Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’  And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!”

Jesus exposed those people who sounded religious but had no personal relationship with Him.  On judgement day only our relationship with Christ, our acceptance of Him as Savior and our obedience to Him, will matter.  Many people think that if they are “good” people and say religious things, they will be rewarded with eternal life.  In reality, faith in Christ is what will count at the judgement.

I know that people don’t worship God in the same way or even with the same passion that I do.  I don’t expect them to.  But what I do expect is for them to leave me alone and let me worship God in the way I choose to.  If that means raising my hands to God in praise as I sing to him then so be it.  If it means that I am a part of a healing service in the church I serve Christ in, then so be it.  If it means that a group of believers including myself picket a store in our town that sells fake marijuana, then so be it.  If God expects me to hold people accountable for the way they are harming the body of Christ, or teaching women how to be a Godly wife using Biblical principles, or lead a bible study because no one else wants to but are eager to learn the Word of God, or teach a Sunday school class, or pray for 3 hours in the sanctuary alone, or whatever I choose….then so be it.  As long as what I am doing is of God and is for the sole purpose of growing God’s kingdom, what am I actually harming.  Except maybe making people uncomfortable because they realize they fall way short like myself?

I know I am not perfect.  Nor have I ever claimed to be.  What I do know is this…I love God.  Plain and simple.  And when I stand before God on judgement day, although what I did was not enough…I want to hear “Well done thou good and faithful servant, you may enter my kingdom.”  I want to know that I did everything possible with the time I had, to serve God with everything I have.  That is all.

So the next time you decide to call someone who might be a little radical, or passionate, in their faith, think about praising them for the work they do for our God.  It may not be what you would do but it certainly is important to them and their faith.  Be a follower of Christ and not a “Christian”.

One thought on “I’m A Jesus Freak! And Proud Of It!

  1. My favorite part of the song, “Jesus Freak, by DC TALK,” is

    “People say I’m strange, does it make me a stranger, that my best friend was born in a manger?!”

Leave a Reply

