My Life With You

I was looking through some pictures, newspaper articles, and other keepsakes.  It is so much fun to reminisce and remember things about my childhood, my children when they were little, and old family photos.  I swear I think I must have kept every paper my girls colored or art project that they did in preschool!

So I think the most cherished thing I found, (sorry my darling daughters, but he must come before my children in order for things to be right with the big man upstairs), is a letter from my husband.  It is a letter he wrote me on our 1st anniversary.

MY LIFE WITH YOU

There was a time….long ago…when the sight of your eyes captured my heart.

From across the hallway I stood, mesmerized by the glow of your eyes…your skin…your hair.

And I knew I was in love.

I tried in vain to let you know how I felt about you, my precious Jeannie.

From holding you close on the dance floors of the Cedar Cinema; both of us clinging to each other like we were the life rafts of each others souls in the midst of life’s storms…..

To barging in to the girl’s bathroom when you were crying, dismayed at the thought of your parents divorcing…

To listening to you intently, as you shared your hopes, fears, dreams, and your entire LIFE with me during our long pleasurable talks…

You opened up life to possibilities that I had only dreamed about;  you broke through the very essence of my soul.  When I was around you, I felt worth something;  I felt honored by your presence… most of all, I felt LOVED.

The years I spent apart from you, my love, were years of nothingness; years of anguish, grief, and strife that were my own personal living hell.  The  drugs and alcohol were only means of escaping the harsh realities that I had made for myself;  I wallowed in self-pity and thought that happiness was something that I would never truly embrace again…like I had when you were in my life those many years ago.

And now, for the past two years, God has blessed me immeasurably with your love and compassion and commitment to me.  And now, one year later, my heart is healed from those many years I spent without you as my wife…something that I should have done so long ago.

Thank you, Jeannie Marie Davis.  For loving me;  for being my best friend;  my soul mate;  my confidante;  my lover;  my helpmate….and most of all…my beautiful wife.

Love Richard

Isn’t he the best?  I really love this man more today than I did 30 years ago.  Is that even possible?  He makes me feel like I am the most important thing in his life.  He does that by making God the most important thing in HIS life.

I am so blessed to have him as my husband.  I cherish every moment we have spent together and pray that we have many more.

You are my whole world Richard Davis.  There are no words in the English language, or any other for that matter, that can express my love for you and what you mean to me.

I only hope and pray that out in this big world that there are couples that experience this kind of love!  It is the best!

Leave a Reply

